Michigan Online Divorce
How to File Your Own Divorce in Michigan
Outlined below is some background information you should know about filing for a divorce in Michigan. Once you become acquainted with this information, you can take our quiz to see if you qualify for the Michigan online divorce.

Using our online divorce is a quick and easy way to get all the completed documents you need in order to file for your own, uncontested divorce, while avoiding having to pay exorbitant attorney fees.

Residency Requirements

Every state has a set of residency requirements that must be met by the filing spouse in order for the court to have jurisdiction over the divorce proceedings. If you don't meet the residency requirements of the state you're trying to file in, the case may get dismissed by the court. The residency requirements in Michigan are as follows:

  • Either the complainant or defendant must reside in this state for 180 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint
  • Either the complainant or defendant must reside in the county in which the complaint is filed for 10 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint

  • (Michigan Compiled Laws - Section: 552.9)

Grounds for Divorce

There are also grounds each state will allow you to file under when filing for a divorce. The ground for divorce is the reason that you and your spouse are filing for a divorce. The following are the grounds for divorce in Michigan:

  • Breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved

  • (Michigan Compiled Laws - Section: 552.6)

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code: