Minnesota Online Divorce
How to File Your Own Divorce in Minnesota
Outlined below is some background information you should know about filing for a divorce in Minnesota. Once you become acquainted with this information, you can take our quiz to see if you qualify for the Minnesota online divorce.

Using our online divorce is a quick and easy way to get all the completed documents you need in order to file for your own, uncontested divorce, while avoiding having to pay exorbitant attorney fees.

Residency Requirements

Every state has a set of residency requirements that must be met by the filing spouse in order for the court to have jurisdiction over the divorce proceedings. If you don't meet the residency requirements of the state you're trying to file in, the case may get dismissed by the court. The residency requirements in Minnesota are as follows:

  • One of the parties must reside in this state, or be a member of the armed services stationed in this state, for not less than 180 days immediately preceding the commencement of the proceeding
  • One of the parties has been a domiciliary of this state for not less than 180 days immediately preceding commencement of the proceeding

  • (Minnesota Statutes - Chapters: 518.07, 518.09)

Grounds for Divorce

There are also grounds each state will allow you to file under when filing for a divorce. The ground for divorce is the reason that you and your spouse are filing for a divorce. The following are the grounds for divorce in Minnesota:

  • An irretrievable breakdown of the marriage relationship
    • Achieved by living separate and apart for at least 180 days or serious marital discord adversely affecting the attitude of the husband, wife, or both towards the marriage

    (Minnesota Statutes - Chapters: 518.06, 158.13)

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code: