New Jersey Online Divorce
How to File Your Own Divorce in New Jersey
Outlined below is some background information you should know about filing for a divorce in New Jersey. Once you become acquainted with this information, you can take our quiz to see if you qualify for the New Jersey online divorce.

Using our online divorce is a quick and easy way to get all the completed documents you need in order to file for your own, uncontested divorce, while avoiding having to pay exorbitant attorney fees.

Residency Requirements

Every state has a set of residency requirements that must be met by the filing spouse in order for the court to have jurisdiction over the divorce proceedings. If you don't meet the residency requirements of the state you're trying to file in, the case may get dismissed by the court. The residency requirements in New Jersey are as follows:

  • When, at the time the cause of action arose, either party was a bona fide resident of this State, and has continued to be down to the time of the commencement of the action; except that no action for absolute divorce shall be commenced for any cause other than adultery, unless one of the parties has been a bona fide resident of this State for the 1 year immediately preceding the commencement of the action; or
  • When, since the cause of action arose, either party has become, and for at least 1 year immediately preceding the commencement of the action, has continued to be, a bona fide resident of this State

  • (New Jersey Statutes - Title 2 A - Chapters: 34-8, 34.10)

Grounds for Divorce

There are also grounds each state will allow you to file under when filing for a divorce. The ground for divorce is the reason that you and your spouse are filing for a divorce. The following are the grounds for divorce in New Jersey:

  • Adultery
  • Willful and continued desertion for the term of 1 year
  • Extreme cruelty
  • Separation, provided that the husband and wife have lived separate and apart in different habitations for a period of at least 18 or more consecutive months
  • Voluntarily induced addiction or habituation to any narcotic drug
  • Institutionalization for mental illness for a period of 2 years
  • Imprisonment of the defendant for 18 months
  • Deviant sexual conduct

  • (New Jersey Statutes - Title 2 A - Chapters: 34-2)

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code: